This paper is much more fun now that I’m not pretending my supervisors would actually let me do this (I’m arguing that our print reference collection should be integrated in with the rest of the books and not be a separate area anymore).  I’ve found all sorts of excellent articles.  

I do keep periodically running into this strange yet commonly-held view that reading only counts if it’s on paper.  Sure, I understand that reading novels or in-depth nonfiction texts is different from browsing blogs and shopping on the internet, but they do in fact both involve reading words, which is one reason why illiteracy is even worse in a “digital” world.  You can even read novels on the internet, though it personally gives me a headache after a while and I find it less cozy.

Leave a Reply

