Spinning wheel repair

I’m home with That Bug Everyone At Work Has Been Getting (I don’t get to play Super Pedestrian and have no trouble getting to work in the snow, but at least the field trip to Hebrew College is being rescheduled), so I thought I’d try to replace the drive band on my spinning wheel.  The hemp one was broken sufficiently that tying the knot made it too short, so I made a new one out of cotton twine.  The cotton is stretchier, giving it a significantly different feel when it’s “tight enough”.

I sort of want to spin a replacement drive band, just to see if I can get yarn strong enough to withstand that kind of tension.

Leave a Reply

