Useful book

Now we’re reading a book on evaluation of library services that is actually profoundly useful! Hand-holding through basic statistics (yes, I do know know how to calculate percentages, but I’d forgotten about sigma notation), analyses of budget planning and evaluation, and other such helpful information.

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Aunt ML said,

    E asked me today if I knew where the bar code numbers on library books came from. I’m guessing they’re like check numbers, containing a combination of library system, branch, and book info. I thought I’d ask you, what with your library knowledge.

    • 2

      limesarah said,

      To be honest, I don’t know. They come from the library supply people. All of ours start with 39097 and then a further nine numbers. I’m guessing those first five are a code for the school; I can try to find out. :-)

  2. 3

    Aunt ML said,

    It is to be hoped that the powers that be won’t feel obligated to shoot you after they impart the secret information. :)

    Hope you’re feeling better soon.

  3. 4

    Aunt ML said,

    Word from a library friend is that the beginning numbers signify the library system, and the rest are random and tied to the book’s record. Nothing real exciting there.

    Feeling any better, health-wise?


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

