In which I would like the entire GR75 section packed up to go, please

We have to find a version of Little Red Riding Hood that we like for Storytelling next week. I now have an old medieval version, several other traditional folk versions, a feminist retelling, gritty modern poetry, a version done as Holocaust narrative, a really weird French version… I also have quite a few other books of folktales to flip through. I was rather proud of myself for figuring out that the catalog was probably not in error when it found me a book entitled “Lishon ʻim Kipah Adumah, la-ḳum ʻim Sheloshah Ḥazironim Ḳeṭanim”.

Edit: I also forgot to mention that LANES (the New England storytelling organization) is having its annual storytelling conference in March in Rhode Island.  I think I’m going to go.

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Batshua said,

    You are going to share these stories with us, yes?

  2. 2

    Aunt ML said,

    This actually from E . . .
    Ever heard of the Politically Correct Bedtime stories version?
    Or Hoodwinked?
    Both of which are kind of funny, in a twisted sort of way.

  3. 3

    limesarah said,

    I *adore* the Politically Correct Bedtime stories! Have you encountered Thurber’s version of Little Red Riding Hood?

  4. 4

    Aunt ML said,

    Thurber has done Little Red? Pardon my while I visit the library online….

    (We love The Night the Bed Fell, The Day the Dam Broke, and More Alarms in the Night)


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

