In which Sarah is entirely surrounded by water

Bonus points if you can identify the title reference.

I feel incredibly refreshed and happy and loved.  I now have a shiny colorful certificate (for anyone curious, I did finally settle on Sarah Na’ama as my Hebrew name) that will get put on the wall at some point.  The beit din was, as promised, much less scary than it sounds.  I am still startled at the phenomenon of people who are not my mother liking things that I write.  I think the special-ness of the mikveh was enhanced by the fact that I’m pretty sure I haven’t been in that much water since taking the swim test at Bryn Mawr freshman year.  I’m just not really a water person, especially when the options for being in large amounts of water don’t usually come in “warm”.  So I stepped in and it was like, “What is this strange sensation of bouyancy?  Oh, right.  That would be what being in water up to one’s chest normally feels like.”  Apparently my natural tendency to sink is useful in this situation.  Ben has made me an amazing object:

 

"She seeks wool and flax and works with her hands willingly/ She sets her hands to the distaff and holds the spindle in her hands"

"She seeks wool and flax and works with her hands willingly/ She sets her hands to the distaff and holds the spindle in her hands"

He burned the letters into the wood by heating paperclips over the stove.  Best boyfriend ever.

For more reactions, I can be chatted with off-blog.

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Cedar-cousins said,

    I’ll take those bonus points! It’s the title of a piece about a Very Small Animal, one Piglet.

    Beautiful wood burning, especially considering it was done with paper clips!

    I think you have my e-mail address; can you share how you came to this point on your spiritual journey?

    Aunt ML
    p.s. Here’s a link to a YouTube video that I wanted to send you. You may have seen it already, it’s not new, but if you haven’t, I think you’ll like it. :) Grocery Store Wars:

  2. 2

    debka_notion said,

    Mazel Tov! (And that is a totally wonderful and fitting gift from Ben.)

  3. 3

    Batshua said,

    Mazel tov! I’m so happy for you!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

