In which I am crafty and warm

It is way too cold.  However, I now have a cozy homemade foot-warmer made from a section of retired jeans leg filled with dried chickpeas, a cup of hot chocolate, three quilts, and a copy of The Fellowship of the Ring.  The world is now a much happier place. :-)  I also, in a fit of cold-inspired impulse-buying, bought a set of fingerless gloves on Etsy this morning.  Yes, I could crochet them myself.  Am I going to, any time before May?  No.  And they’ll keep my hands so toasty.

Also, buns made of challah dough filled with a spoonful of homemade strawberry jam make delicious breakfast.  I must make them again.

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Herbert said,

    Ah, if I knew, I would have made you some. I’ve been on a fingerless mitten kick. This is an incredibly awesome and easy pattern.

    Also, I didn’t know you crochet. But that’s yay. And I should make more challah.

  2. 2

    limesarah said,

    Thank you for the thought-mittens, anyway :-)

    I *can* crochet, but typically don’t, because for some reason I get bored quickly in a way that I don’t when spinning, possibly because it takes just enough concentration that I can’t put my brain on autopilot, but not enough thinking to be really interesting in the long run. But it’s a useful skill to have. I can also knit, though not as well as I can crochet.

  3. 3

    Alexandra said,

    How do you heat the chickpeas? Can they go in the microwave or are you putting them on the wood stove, or what?

  4. 4

    limesarah said,

    Alexandra — they can go in the microwave — my rather large foot warmer with maybe 2 pounds of beans in it heated to a comfortable temperature in about 3 minutes in our rather ancient microwave, but microwaves vary. It does give off an odd toasted-bean scent, so I might have heated it a bit too long. Our apartment is sadly lacking in wood-burning-stove capabilities, but that would doubtless work as well, so long as it wasn’t hot enough to scorch the fabric.

  5. 5

    CComMack said,

    See, the first time I read this, I parsed the foot warmer as being made from a “retired jeans leg filled with [dried chickpeas, a cup of hot chocolate, three quilts, and a copy of The Fellowship of the Ring]”, and wondered if the copy of Fellowship had special insulative properties…

  6. 6

    limesarah said,

    Oh dear…silly English :-)


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

