More crafts, a clue-bat, and a class update

After batting around the Giant Balls of Wool, hugging them, wearing around the roving braid on my head, and otherwise becoming acquainted with the fiber (and in the process causing Ben to think I have gone slightly mad), I have decided that the blue roving wants company. As luck would have it, the artist who dyed that one had some of the same type of wool that she had been planning to dye up soon anyway, and it is now in lovely brown and green tones which I will see pictures of for review when they dry, sometime this afternoon :-) And roving braids make such nice warm hippyish headbands that I’m tempted to get a cheap one expressly for that purpose. It would be risky to use one that I want to spin, because wearing it like that will eventually start felting it. This is a good project for me to be starting now…I get some of my best thinking done while spinning. I just need to finish that calico roving, and then I can start on the stripes.

I got my thyroid prescription refilled on Wednesday and discovered when I got home that either the doctor or the pharmacist had goofed and they’d given me a quarter of my usual dose. I was kind of upset, since that was likely to make me all tired and useless until I got the right dosage, until I realized that I could just take four of them a day. Because I can do math! Sigh. Can I blame it on having gone entirely without meds for two days due to laziness and poor time management? I had a new prescription called in, which I should be able to pick up later today or tomorrow, and meanwhile I’ll have some spare metabolism on hand in case I run out unexpectedly again.

Management continues to be boring. And the professor doesn’t seem to understand why I object to being given a giant stack of handouts every week instead of having them scanned and put up on the course website (the poor trees….). Management should be interesting. It should be relevant to my life, being as I am a manager, if a very low-level one. But learning about how Huge Corporations are run isn’t as useful to me, as it results in these cute soundbites and advice, but not enough practical small-scale examples. (For example, yes, you should focus on the essentials in a time of organizational crisis. But can we see how this is managed in the case of a public library that’s strapped for funding, rather than spending half the class learning how Xerox managed it?) And knowing how to manage is important, but I think if we had more work and case-studies on how to deal with managers as subordinates, it would be a lot more useful. Some of us might go on to be the director of the New York Public Library. Most of us will probably spend some time at least as the head of a small department, or as the manager of some volunteers and pages. But almost all of us, even solo librarians in tiny little nonprofit organizations, will have bosses. Even if we’re a big important director, we’ll have to deal with trustees and mayors and other such bigwigs. And knowing how to interact well with a superior is crucial to ever getting to the point of being in that higher managerial position yourself. I think the professor has been teaching this class too long and forgets that there are some things he hasn’t told us. We’re getting so behind on the syllabus.

Leave a Reply

