Friendly little microbes

I now have many friendly little microbes in my kitchen :-)

Last night, I started pickles and sourdough starter.  The pickle juice tastes pickly, but not really zingy enough yet, which isn’t surprising.  The sourdough, on the other hand, is most definitely doing well.  In under 24 hours, it went from flour-and-water to this wonderful spongy substance that smells delicious!  I put it in the fridge.  I’ll make sourdough pancakes for a snack and then feed it so that I can have sourdough bread for Friday.  Yaaaaaay!  I have a pet.  They need a name.

I tried toasting the dried zucchini slices with some shredded cheese sprinkled on them.  I think the general idea is sound, but they want to be baked at a lower temperature rather than toasted.  They were still sort of leathery by the time they started to burn around the edges.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    kit said,

    man, i <3 starter. it’s so friendly.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

