More food preserving experimentation

I have attempted to make “salt stock”, as mentioned in one of Sharon‘s latest posts.  Seven ounces of chopped herbs and onion tops and seven ounces of salt, put in a glass jar and shaken until mixed.  It will evidently keep forever and is excellent for soup base.  I think I know what I’m doing with all those wild onions next spring :-)  And with the basil at the end of the summer.  I could get pretty little jars and make decorative basil salt to give as gifts!  I could put chopped hot peppers in it and make spicy basil salt!  *plotplotplot*

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Lisa Z said,

    We gave salt and herb “rubs” as Christmas gifts a couple of years ago. People really like them, even people who don’t cook a lot. It’s an easy thing to make meat taste good. Let us know how this turns out. I’d like to try it too.

    Lisa in MN


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

