One Local Pancake

I’m not sure whether I’ll have time for more completely-local meals, so I might as well write up the pancakes I had for breakfast yesterday and today:

Home-ground spelt flour (spelt from Wood Prairie Farm in Maine) combined with NH eggs and nonlocal baking powder made a lovely batter, fried with some nonlocal oil.  I alternated spreading them with homemade strawberry jam and local honey.  A lovely way to start the day :-)

Question for you OLS New England folks: has anyone discovered a source of local (unfermented) grape juice?  It must exist…once they’re ripe, I’m going to ask if the person with the grape arbor down the street actually does anything with them.

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    tirerim said,

    Maybe look for Concord grape juice? They’re native, after all.

  2. 2

    limesarah said,

    Native, yes, but not usually grown here. The stuff we’ve been getting is pure Concord, but grown in California. Or at least, shipped from California. It’s even sillier if they’re getting New England grapes, shipping them to California to be bottled, and then shipping them back. But California is a huge grape state, so I assume they’re grown there. Welch’s organic grape juice is from Washington grapes. I don’t know about their non-organic…I should ask, just for the sake of obsessive information-gathering.

  3. 3

    tirerim said,

    Nantucket Nectars seems to make an organic Concord grape juice; they’re a local company, so possibly more likely to be using local grapes, but you’d have to ask.

    Since Massachusetts isn’t a big grape state (despite Concord grapes originating here), I’d guess that only small, local companies are likely to be using local grapes.

  4. 4

    Jen H. said,

    I’ve successfully foraged Concord grapes here in western Mass. But it would be quite a project to get enough for a significant quantity of juice.

  5. 5

    limesarah said,

    Hi, Jen! Yay, more sustainable librarians!

    I’ve discovered a bunch of wild concords growing near the route to the CSA, so I’m hoping I’ll at least getone meal’s worth of local juice at some point.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

