Independence Days — 5/16

Planted: Nothing, but Ben transplanted beans, peas, soybeans, and salsify into containers along the side of the house.

Harvested: Nothing yet.  I might grab some more wild onions on my way home.

Preserved: 12 4-oz jars of dandelion jelly, which hasn’t set yet.  It is delicious — I’d like to try a lower-sugar version, as this is *very* sweet, but it will be lovely on many things.  As several recipes indicated, it tastes a lot like honey.  Sweet and slightly tart and spicy, and a color almost exactly like medium honey.  If it doesn’t set, then I will have dandelion syrup and all will be well.

Stored: 20 pounds rose matta rice, and I put all the bulk grains into plastic buckets.  I’d like to get another 20 pound bag of rice, preferably jasmine, and then I think I’ll call the grain storage good.  (Eventually I’ll get whole corn as well, but that needs to wait for us to use up the cornmeal.)

Prepped: I finally went out and got bobbins, pins, and thread for the sewing machine, so I can get that set up, and I also picked up safety pins and circular knitting needles in two sizes.  I’m not sure how likely it is that I’ll really get serious about knitting, but several things that I really want to make are easier with circular needles, so they seemed like a good investment.  I have a big container of very multi-grain “pancake flour” from all the different grains I’ve been testing in the grain mill.  Even lentils work, though not quite as well as some things.  I made slightly less whole-wheat flour by sifting out some of the bran.  It’s really a better way to collect wheat bran than it is a way to make white flour, but it was an experiment.  I explored the big Indian grocery on Moody street, which will be a good source of several spices I’d been having trouble finding, as well as dried fruit in large bags.  And limes.  Limes are eight for a dollar.

Cooked: Delicious pancakes and excellent lentil soup.  I’ve made lentil soup many times before, but I seem to have hit upon a really good recipe.  Lentils, one large onion, salt, and a hefty pinch of medieval pepper seasoning.  It also helped that I very nearly burned the lentils, resulting in a nice toasty flavor.  It would have been even better if the onions had been caramelized in some oil first.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    What is dandelion jelly for? Does one use it like honey?

    I love eight-for-a-dollar limes!

  2. 2

    limesarah said,

    Dandelion jelly is made by boiling and then straining dandelion petals, and adding sugar, pectin, and lemon juice. We just had it on pancakes this morning, and it was wonderful! It’s still syrupy, though.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

