Rice bread

I’m full of interesting cooking today :-)

The rice bread turned out beautifully — it was basically just cornbread with coarsely ground rice substituted for the cornmeal.  Two cups coarsely ground basmati rice (almost indistinguishable in texture from beach sand), two eggs, about a teaspoon of baking powder, about 1/4 cup sugar, ground ginger, and enough rice milk and water to get it to a nice batter.  Bake in a glass 9×9 dish at 350 degrees until crispy on top and browned on the bottom.  Deliciousness.  And, except for the fact that our grain mill is thoroughly contaminated, gluten free.  It holds its shape well, and has a nice crumb to it that you don’t always get in gluten-free things.  I actually like the texture much better than the cornbread I’ve been making; I think it’s the coarse grind that does it.

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Lisa Z said,

    Thanks for the recipe! I will try that when I get my grain mill. I’m always trying to avoid wheat so any GF recipes interest me.

    Lisa in MN

  2. 2

    limesarah said,

    You’re welcome :-) I think that things like crepes and cornbread that don’t depend on gluten already come out better than, say, rice-based sandwich bread, which tends to be just kind of disappointing.

  3. 3

    limesarah said,

    Also, you probably already know this, but you’ll want to tell them not to test the grain mill with wheat before they send it.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

