Update, with extra sniffles

So, as mentioned, I’ve been sick this week, since about Tuesday.  Despite that, I’ve been doing not-too-shabby on the green front.  I stuck to the meal plan reasonably well, though Tuesday I ended up eating out for both lunch and dinner because I totally mistimed things.  We’re almost out of oil…amusingly enough, both cooking and heating.

I’ll call the oil people next week and get another tankfull.  I was hoping it would last longer, but there’s still about 1/4 of a tank left, which should last until March when things will start warming up.  So the refilling will mostly be so that it doesn’t actually run out and damage the system.  I think we’re still on-target there (well, on *my* target — we’re at about 1/3 of average American usage)

Project NoWaste: This was a good week for not wasting food. But I didn’t get around to making cookies for break snack for reference, so I bought some bulk Swedish fish at the campus store. But then reference library students don’t seem to like Swedish fish very much, so I have lots of Swedish fish. And guess who’s been eating them all, in the name of not wasting food? Yup. My dentist is going to hate me now.

Growing Challenge: Nothing too exciting has happened this week. The greens have put forth a few more tiny leaves, and we had another crop of mushrooms that went into two tasty meals. I attempted to raise a crop of yeast for sourdough, but it doesn’t seem to be going anywhere. I’m going to send away for some of that Oregon Trail heirloom stuff and see if that gives it a fighting chance. I think part of it is that it’s just too cold right now for it to grow well. I’m going to turn the failed starter into pancakes or something.

Dark Days Eat Local: I think the mushroom pasta from Monday qualifies, and there’s been lots of local toast with local jam. It’s been a rice-heavy week, so most of the meals get disqualified that way. But the veggies are, as usual, all local. We’re actually starting to run low on carrots. We had ten pounds of them. I will be very sad when they’re all gone. At least carrots are an all-year things, so we’ll get them fairly quickly again once the CSA starts up in June.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    wasteweardaily said,

    I’m sick too, going on 11 days now, so I feel your frustration. It is hard to want to cook when you are blowing your nose all day long. Hope you get better soon.
    Cindy in FL

  2. 2

    limesarah said,

    Aww, thanks. I slept for 12 hours straight Sunday night and now I feel much better. I hope you feel better soon, too!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

