“Praise darkness, and Creation unfinished”

I’ve been re-reading The Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula LeGuin.  It has such beautiful philosophies about darkness and cold that I’d totally forgotten about.  I really need that at this time of year.

That said, what’s up with my metabolism lately?  When the apartment was in the low 50s a couple weeks ago, I was unpleasantly cold, and turned the heat on, but could manage just fine until it warmed up.  Last night it was around 56 or 57 and I was uncontrollably shivering under several quilts, sweats, pjs with feet, and a hat.  My temperature was 95.9, which is actually mild hypothermia, though I usually run a degree or so cool, so it’s not as bad as it looks.  This was after a fairly active day, a good hot dinner, and a few cups of tea in the evening.  If this happens again, I’m going to the doctor and having her check my TSH again.

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Rete said,

    Please say you meant your temp was 95.9, because I think at 55.9 you would have been quite dead. lol

  2. 2

    limesarah said,

    Ooops! I was on autopilot after typing the room temperature. Fixed now.

  3. 3

    Melinda said,

    I was having a similar issue a few weeks back. I took Crunchy Chicken’s thermostat challenge, and pledged to keep the heat off unless it went below 50 degrees.

    I was wearing a hat, scarf, and two layers inside the house. My husband decided it wasn’t acceptable, considering I have pretty bad asthma, so we bought a couple of space heaters. I feel bad using the electricity, but I sure feel a lot more productive. I just keep it on the lowest setting and keep my office door closed all day. The cat and dog love it, too.

    It will keep us from being as low as we wanted to go in the electricity category, but in the overall scheme of things, if I’m more productive, that means I’m helping others reduce their use, which means it’s all good, right?


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

