I attempted to make challah on Friday.  I was using a new recipe, but it still didn’t work to a rather impressive degree.  The gluten didn’t activate and it didn’t rise, resulting in a sort of challah-biscuit-thing.  Both the flour and the yeast were brand-new.  I made very successful popovers with the flour yesterday, so I think the flour is ok, but I’m not actually clear on how much gluten you need for popovers.  Maybe I’ll try making pasta at some point.  I really hope it isn’t the yeast…if the flour’s weird, I can just make quickbreads and stuff with it, but if the yeast is bad, I’ll just have to throw it out.

In other news, I’m almost done with homework.  I still need to finish up three lesson plans, and post them in the wiki.  I was going to go to a cookout, but I don’t think I’ll have time to go and still get both homework and packing done.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Mark said,

    Try proofing the yeast. Put some in warm water with a little sugar. If it doesn’t foam up a little in 5-10 minutes, your little burpers are toast.

  2. 2

    Aunt ML said,

    or not able to aid in the making of toast, as the case may be. :)


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

